ACP 2012


The Australasian College of Phlebology 15th Annual Scientific Meeting

6 - 11 May 2012, The Sebel Hotel, Cairns, Australia



Delegate Registration is now open!!! Click here to register

Abstract submission is now CLOSED, all authors will be notified  of acceptance 2 March 2012

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

On behalf of the Organising Committee it is my great privilege and pleasure to invite you to Cairns, Australia, for the 15th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) of the Australasian College of Phlebology (ACP). The four day ASM includes keynote lectures, original papers, panel discussions and the popular ‘Controversies in Phlebology’ key-pad interactive debates. The ASM also includes the Sclerotherapy Course (pre ASM) covering all aspects of sclerotherapy and the Diagnostic Imaging Ultrasound Workshop (post ASM).

As past delegates have come to expect the ASM will offer a great social program including the Welcome Party and the Conferring Ceremony and Gala Dinner.

I look forward to your participation in the Annual Scientific Meeting and seeing you all in Cairns, Australia!

Kurosh Parsi

President, Australasian College of Phlebology




Important Dates

Notification of acceptance of Abstracts - 2 March 2012

Early-bird registration closes - 31 March 2012


Location and Venue

Cairns - Tropical North Queensland, Australia. Nestled on the coast of Far North Queensland, the city is tucked between the Great Barrier Reef in the Coral Sea and the lush rolling downs of the Atherton Tableland to the west. Cairns is renowned for its tourism attractions like the Great Barrier Reef, the Wet Tropics World Heritage rainforest and the Daintree. There is something here for every visitor to enjoy … adrenaline-charged adventures, hiking, gourmet restaurants or just sitting under a palm tree sipping a cocktail.

The Sebel Hotel, Cairns is a luxurious hotel located in the vibrant heart of Cairns CBD, right at the doorstep of some of the best shopping, dining and attractions the city has to offer. Trinity Wharf, Cairns Casino and Cairns Esplanade are all within a short walking distance of the hotel.


Keynote Speakers


Prof. Ken Myers, Phlebologist and Vascular Surgeon, AUS


Prof. Andre van Rij, Phlebologist and Vascular Surgeon, NZ


Prof. Philip Coleridge Smith, Phlebologist and Vascular Surgeon, UK


Prof. Alun Davies, Phlebologist and Vascular Surgeon, UK


Prof. Mark Haacke, Physicist, USA


Dr Ted King, Phlebologist, USA


Prof. Jean Francois Uhl, Anatomist, France


A/Prof. Neil Piller, Lymphologist, AUS


Prof. Takashi Yamaki, Dept of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery,Tokyo Women's Medical University, Japan

Scientific Meeting Organising Committees


A/Prof. Kurosh Parsi (Chair)

Sclerotherapy Workshop

A/Prof.Kurosh Parsi

Dr Louis Loizou

Scientific Program

A/Prof. Kurosh Parsi

Prof. Masud Behnia

Dr David Connor

Conferring Ceremony

Dr Louis Loizou

Ms Annie Silkman

Ms Zivka Curkoski

Diagnostic Imaging Ultrasound Workshop

Mr Martin Necas

Ms Annie Silkman

The full program and registration brochure is available via the link below.