About the College

The Australasian College of Phlebology (ACP) was founded in 1993 as the Sclerotherapy Society of Australia by Dr Paul Thibault.  In 1999, the Society officially changed name to the Australasian College of Phlebology to coincide with the introduction of its Training Program. Since then, the ACP has established one of the most comprehensive phlebology training programs in the world. The formal Training Program is comprised of 4 years of supervised training complemented by a comprehensive on-line educational system. Since 1999, ACP has graduated dozens of venous specialists who now hold teaching, educational and board positions within the College. ACP is currently the largest phlebology society in Australia and New Zealand.

ACP actively promotes education and research in phlebology and serves the general public as a resource regarding venous disorders. The College provides advice and assistance to the Australian and New Zealand Governments, regulatory authorities and the industry in matters relating to industry standards, new developments and reimbursement issues.

ACP fellowship represents the multi-disciplinary nature of phlebology and includes a variety of medical specialties such as vascular surgery, dermatology, interventional radiology, haematology, vascular medicine and lymphology. ACP membership includes other health care professionals such as sonographers, scientists and nurses with a shared interest in phlebology.

ACP was successful in bidding for the UIP 2018 World Congress and will be hosting this great event from the 4th-8th February 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. 

The College's aims are:

  • To establish and maintain high standards of learning skill and conduct in the practice of phlebology.
  • To establish and maintain high standards of practice, patient care and ethics in the practice of phlebology.
  • To conduct courses of study, preceptorships and specialist training in phlebology.
  • To generate interest and promote research in phlebology.
  • To conduct scientific meetings and conferences in phlebology.
  • To promote scientific debate and expansion of knowledge.
  • To provide, endow or support scholarships, lectureships, readerships and professorships in phlebology.
  • To establish phlebology as a recognized and distinct medical specialty in Australia and New Zealand.

    The College Constitution and Code of Conduct documents can be downloaded via the links below.



Dr Adrian Lim
Current President
2017 - 2019


A/Prof. Kurosh Parsi
2005 - 2017
Dr David Jenkins
2002 - 2005
Dr Paul Thibault
1993 - 2002


Code of Conduct